Christmas and New Year 2023 Bin Collection Changes

Waste Bins

Christmas and New Year Bin Collection Changes

Guildford Borough Council (GBC) has confirmed the bin collection days will change over the Christmas and New Year periods.

No garden waste collection

GBC does not make garden waste collections during the Christmas period. There will be no garden waste collections for two weeks between Monday 25 December and Saturday 6 January.

Excess Cardboard waste

With the increase in online delivery, households have more cardboard than ever to dispose of. If your recycling bin is full you can put additional recycling next to your recycling collection provided it is presented in an appropriate manner.  The cardboard should be broken down and bundled next to your recycling collection. Other items that would usually be put in recycling bins can also be placed in a plastic carrier bags for side waste collection. However, black sacks won’t be taken, only see-through small carrier bags.

Side Waste

The table below shows the changes to collection days over Christmas and New Year

 

Changes to bin collection days over the Christmas and New Year period 2023 to 2024
Usual collection day Changed collection day
Monday 25 December (Christmas Day) Wednesday 27 December
Tuesday 26 December (Boxing Day) Thursday 28 December
Wednesday 27 December Friday 29 December
Thursday 28 December Saturday 30 December
Friday 29 December Sunday 31 December
Monday 1 January (New Years Day) Tuesday 2 January
Tuesday 2 January Wednesday 3 January
Wednesday 3 January Thursday 4 January
Thursday 4 January Friday 5 January
Friday 5 January Saturday 6 January

If your bin has not been emptied, report a missed bin collection within two working days.

 

 

Join the Conversation

Discover more from Ash Parish News

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading

Scroll to Top